From the mouths of babes . . .

20 March 2006

This morning on the way to school my son was talking about one of his favorite books,* and he referred several times to the “distract button.” It took me a second to realize he was talking about the “self-destruct button” that the hero presses to end the threat from the dreaded Orang-u-tron.

I spent my weekend alternately working hard and trying with mixed success to fight off distractions. My attention span runs short anyway, and I often fall into the habit of finding many things to do–useful in themselves, but unrelated to the most important thing I’m working on–that are distractions from the main task at hand. It’s like I have my own “self-destruct” button, labeled “Distract.”

Note to self: don’t push the Distract button.

~~

* Ricky Ricotta’s Mighty Robot vs. the Mecha-Monkeys from Mars, by Dav Pilkey. Highly recommended for the under-10 set.

Leave a Reply

